Pirretas Glasmacher named Canada West all-star

  Posted on: October 31, 2018

Jan Pirretas Glasmacher against UBC earlier this year (Andrew Snucins photo)

For the second straight season, Thompson Rivers University WolfPack defender Jan Pirretas Glasmacher has been named a Canada West all-star.

The second year player from Barcelona, Spain has been selected as part of the Canada West second all-star team for the 2018-19 season.
The 6’3” native of Barcelona, Spain started all 15 matches for the WolfPack and played numerous positions on the Thompson Rivers back line. He also notched three goals and two assists and had 31 shots including 10 on the net. One of his goals was a game winner.
Last season, Pirretas Glasmacher was a Canada West rookie all-star.

Head coach John Antulov had this to say about his players’ selection, “Jan has had an outstanding year this year playing in multiple positions. He is very deserving of being an all-star. He has been a rock at that back and helped solidify our backline when put there mid-way through the season. He and Finlay have formed a great partnership that have led us into the final four this weekend. He has organized the back line and is very tough to beat 1v1 and is also calm and composed bringing the ball out of the back – everything you want in a backline player.”

Here are the rest of the Canada West all-stars for this season:

First team:

Keeper: Connor James (Alberta)
Defending players: Tammer Byrne (UFV), Noah Cunningham (Alberta) Connor Guilherme (UBC), Janko Vong (Alberta), Gordon Hall (UNBC)
Attacking players: Ajeej Sarkaria (Alberta), Gurmaan Jhag (UFV), Easton Ongaro (Alberta), Thomas Gardner (UBC), Joel Waterman (Trinity)

Second team:

Keeper: Jason Roberts (UBC)
Defending Players: Jan Pirretas Glasmacher (TRU), Ivan Borka (Alberta), Riley Pang (UBC), Ryan Doering (Calgary), Daniel Harrison (Mount Royal)
Attacking Players: Caleb Clarke (UBC), Niki Baikus (Sask), Kristian Yli Hietanen (UBC), Sein Einarsson (UBC), Moe El Gandour (Mount Royal)

Player and Rookie of the year: Thomas Gardner (UBC)
Coach of the year: Martin Fenger-Anderson (Alberta)
Student-Athlete Community: Fran Bartollilo (UNBC)
Fair Play Award: Alberta


Related Posts